Two London RSOs recognised with distinguished service award


Two long-standing road safety officers have received the London Road Safety Council’s distinguished service award.

With more than 65 years road safety service an experience between them, Elaine Beckett and Eamon Doran were presented with their awards by LRSC president James Cracknell, at the organisation’s 2016 AGM on 22 July.

Eamon Doran took retirement earlier this year after 35 years in the profession which saw him represent Southwark and Newham.

After attending Middlesex University to study the certificate, and then advanced certificate in road safety, Eamon joined Southwark Council as a road safety assistant in 1980. At that time he was one of eight officers at Southwark involved in road safety education, training and publicity (ETP).

He left Southwark in 1985 to join Newham as a road safety officer, working his way up over two decades to become the borough’s principal safety education officer.

He re-joined Southwark in 2006 as a group manager, ending up with responsibility for 17 staff dealing with road safety, travel awareness, school travel plans and cleaner, greener and safer project management.

He was also tasked with making Southwark a 20mph borough, which was completed in March 2014.

Alongside his work for Southwark and Newham, Eamon was also treasurer of the LRSC and is currently a vice-president of the council.

Elaine Beckett’s journey through the road safety profession started as a mum who volunteered to train as a cyclist instructor at her son’s school.

Elaine then joined Braintree District Council as the pre-school liaison officer in 1985/6 – part of a small team that collectively delivered the road safety service to the Braintree, Maldon and Rochford areas of Essex.

In around 1995, Elaine took on the role of assistant road safety officer, progressing to district road safety officer in the west of the county. She remained in that role for several years before moving to her current role at the London Borough of Hackney.

Elaine’s involvement with the LRSC commenced in 2010 and since then she has proven to be a proactive supporter as chairman of the projects sub-committee, a speaker and manager of the Hackney road safety team.

LRSC David WilliamsA special award was also made to David Williams MBE who has chaired the London Road Safety Awards’ judging panel since 1993.

David is stepping down from this role following his retirement from the position of chief executive of GEM Motoring Assist.


26 July 2016