Three months until the first phase of Direct Vision Standard

LRSC Direct Vision Standard

TfL is encouraging fleet operators to prepare for the introduction of the ‘world-leading’ Direct Vision Standard – with less than three months until the first phase begins.

The Direct Vision Standard is designed to protect vulnerable road users from the ‘most dangerous’ heavy goods vehicles by minimising blind spots.

Under the standard, HGVs will be categorised depending on the level of a driver’s direct vision from a cab – and will be given a rating between ‘zero-star’ (lowest) and ‘five-star’ (highest).

Only vehicles rated ‘one-star’ and above, or those that have comprehensive safety systems, will be able to operate in London from October 2020. From 2024, the minimum requirement will be raised to ‘three-star’.

HGVs that do not meet the required Direct Vision Standard star rating will need to improve their overall safety through the introduction of ‘Safe System mitigating measures’ such as cameras, sensors and audible warnings.

HGV operators will have to apply for a permit via an online portal on TfL’s website, which becomes live on 28 October.

Timeline for the Direct Vision Standard:

  • 28 October 2019: The first permits will be issued. Trucks rated 0* will need to upgrade to a Safe System in order to get a permit 
  • 26 October 2020: Enforcement begins
  • 2022: Consultation on the progressive Safe System
  • 2024: The minimum Direct Vision Standard star rating increases from 1* to 3* – or a progressive Safe System

Christina Calderato, head of transport strategy and planning at TfL, said: “Our Direct Vision Standard and its associated HGV Safety Permit is vital for saving lives on London’s streets and achieving Vision Zero. 

“We thank the freight industry for their input and support throughout the stages of development. 

“We are just three months away from the first permits being issued and encourage all operators to check the star rating of their vehicle, so they are prepared and compliant.”

31 July 2019