Nominations open for 2019 London Road Safety Award

LRSC award 2018

The 2018 London Road Safety Award was presented to Croydon Council

The London Road Safety Council is inviting nominations for its annual road safety award, designed to celebrate work carried out within the education, training and publicity aspects of road safety.

The London Road Safety Award, previously known as the Laurie Bunn Award until it was rebranded in 2016, was first presented in 2003.

The award will be presented at the London Road Safety Council’s AGM on 12 July, with submissions required by Friday 25 May.

The 2018 award was presented to Croydon Council’s parking enforcement team, in recognition of a scheme which creates temporary pedestrian zones outside schools.

The previous year, it was awarded to Lewisham Council for a training initiative which sets out to increase the basic road awareness and safety of young motorcyclists in the borough.

Cllr Teji Barnes, chair of the LRSC, said:

“The London Road Safety Award provides the opportunity to gain recognition for individuals, groups or teams of people.

“While the award celebrates work carried out within the education, training and publicity aspects of road safety, we welcome entries detailing partnership projects with members of the community, local businesses or other council departments.

“In making the award we would like to be able to share examples of good practice with our colleagues across the Capital. The judging criteria will therefore be based on projects, initiatives or working practices which are innovative and have a demonstrable outcome.

“The award is a proven and positive way to publicise aspects of your work to senior officers, members, the local press and above all, the community you serve.”

Click here to download the 2019 nomination form, which must be submitted to James Parker via email by 25 May.


16 April 2019