Nominations open for 2018 London Road Safety Award

LRSC award 2017 winner

The London Road Safety Council is inviting nominations for its annual road safety award, designed to celebrate work carried out within the education, training and publicity aspects of road safety.

The London Road Safety Award, previously known as the Laurie Bunn Award until it was rebranded in 2016, was first presented in 2003.

Councillor Wendy Brice Thompson, chair of the LRSC, said:

“The London Road Safety Award provides the opportunity to gain recognition for individuals, groups or teams of people.

“While the award celebrates work carried out within the education, training and publicity aspects of road safety, we welcome entries detailing partnership projects with members of the community, local businesses or other council departments.

“The award enables us to share examples of good practice with colleagues London-wide. The judging criteria will therefore be based on projects, initiatives or working practices which are innovative and have a demonstrable outcome.

“This Award is a proven and positive way for road safety teams to publicise aspects of their work to colleagues, the local press and above all to the communities they serve.”

Last year the award was presented to Lewisham Council for a training initiative which sets out to increase the basic road awareness and safety of young motorcyclists in the borough.

Click here to download the 2018 nomination form, which needs to be submitted by Friday 25 May. Click here to see details of previous London Road Safety Award winners.

The LRSC is also seeking nominations for its Distinguished Service Award, which recognises the achievements of road safety officers and elected members in the Capital.

In 2017, the award was presented to both Alderman Alison Gowman and Peter Wilson.

To make a nomination, send a 200 word summary – explaining the individual’s contribution to road safety in London and/or the LRSC – to James Parker by 21 May.

For more information either award – both of which will be presented at the LRSC’s AGM on 20 July – contact James Parker, LRSC executive officer.

18 April 2018