Nominations open for 2017 London Road Safety Award

LRSC award school winner

The London Road Safety Council (LRSC) is inviting nominations for its annual road safety award, designed to celebrate work carried out within the education, training and publicity aspects of road safety.

The London Road Safety Award, previously known as the Laurie Bunn Award until it was rebranded in 2016, was first presented in 2003.

Councillor Wendy Brice Thompson, chair of the LRSC, said: “The London Road Safety Award provides the opportunity to gain recognition for individuals, groups or teams of people.

“While the award celebrates work carried out within the education, training and publicity aspects of road safety, we welcome entries detailing partnership projects with members of the community, local businesses or other council departments.

“The award enables us to share examples of good practice with colleagues London-wide. The judging criteria will therefore be based on projects, initiatives or working practices which are innovative and have a demonstrable outcome.

“This Award is a proven and positive way for road safety teams to publicise aspects of their work to colleagues, the local press and above all to the communities they serve.”

Last year the award was presented to The Vale School (pictured) for the ‘Travelators’ – a youth travel ambassador scheme for children with special needs.

Travelators was conceived after students decided that they wanted to show their families they were capable of independent travel and aware of the dangers and pitfalls.

Under the guidance of TfL and teacher Richard Tharp, the students created an information film showing the problems encountered by young adults with special needs.

Brent Council was named runner-up for its SEN road safety awareness project which has been successfully piloted at Phoenix Arch School for young people who are autistic or have learning or behavioural difficulties.

Click here to download the 2017 nomination form or for more information contact James Parker, LRSC executive officer.

The deadline for entries is Friday 26 May and the award will presented at the LRSC’s centenary AGM on 21 July.

Click here to see details of previous London Road Safety Award winners.

21 April 2017